Lee County June 24, 2024
Avg. DOM
Avg. $ / Sq.Ft.
Med. List Price
44 Properties
Page 1 of 4

Lee County, Illinois

Lee County, situated in the state of Illinois, boasts a population of 34,145 as per the 2020 census, with Dixon serving as its county seat.

The Dixon, IL Micropolitan Statistical Area encompasses the entirety of Lee County.

In terms of history, the initial non-native settlers in the area predominantly hailed from the six New England states. The early 19th century witnessed a significant westward migration from New England, largely facilitated by the completion of the Erie Canal and the conclusion of the Black Hawk War.

The region that now comprises Lee County was initially designated as part of St. Clair County in 1809. Subsequently, in 1823, a substantial portion of northern St. Clair County was segregated to form Fulton County. Further divisions followed, leading to the establishment of Putnam County in 1825 and Jo Daviess County in 1831. Ogle County emerged from a section of Jo Daviess County in 1836, with Lee County itself being formed from the southern half of Ogle County in 1839. The county's name is commonly believed to pay homage to "Lighthorse Harry" Lee, a notable figure from the American Revolutionary War. An alternative theory suggests that the name commemorates Richard Henry Lee, a member of the Continental Congress who played a pivotal role in the adoption of the Declaration of Independence through the Lee Resolution.