Fremont Township, Lake County, Illinois

Fremont Township Homes For Sale History of Townships in The United States Lake County Homes For Sale Your Lake County Home Value

Fremont Township, located in Lake County, Illinois, USA, is home to a population of 32,337 as per the 2010 census. Established around 1849, the township was named in honor of the renowned western explorer John C. Frémont.

Encompassing an area of 35.8 square miles, including 1.7 square miles of water bodies, Fremont Township boasts scenic lakes such as Countryside Lake, Davis Lake, Diamond Lake, Lake Fairfield, and Schreiber Lake.

The township shares borders with several adjacent townships, including Avon Township to the north, Warren Township to the northeast, and Libertyville Township to the east. It also neighbors Vernon Township to the southeast, Ela Township to the south, and Cuba Township to the southwest, along with Wauconda Township to the west and Grant Township to the northwest.

Within Fremont Township are various villages, including Grayslake, Hawthorn Woods, Libertyville, Long Grove, Mundelein, North Barrington, Round Lake, and Wauconda.

Major highways like U.S. Route 12, U.S. Route 45, Illinois State Route 60, Illinois State Route 83, Illinois State Route 137, and Illinois State Route 176 pass through the township, facilitating transportation. Additionally, Fremont Township is served by Air Estates Airport and Campbell Airport, enhancing regional accessibility.

History of Townships in the United States

In the United States, townships represent the oldest form of government still in operation today. Dating back to 1636, American settlers introduced this system as a way to escape the autocratic governance prevalent in Europe. This grassroots democratic process was carried out through town meetings, where residents gathered to discuss important matters and establish local laws.

In Illinois, township government was established in 1849 following the adoption of the Illinois Constitution of 1848. This constitution allowed voters in each county to choose between establishing township governments or adopting a county commission form of government without townships. Presently, 85 out of the 102 counties in Illinois operate under the township form of government, with a total of 1,433 townships serving over eight million residents.

Townships are distinct geographic areas separate from cities and counties. While a large city may contain multiple townships, a single township may encompass several smaller towns. Township government functions at the local level and is intended to address the basic needs of the community. It is designed to operate closely with the residents it serves, particularly in rural areas where townships often serve as the primary source of social services and road maintenance.

Illinois townships are mandated by law to fulfill three primary functions:

  • General Assistance: Providing food, shelter, or emergency relief to individuals in need until they are able to support themselves or qualify for other forms of assistance.
  • Property Assessment: Township Assessors determine property values for all properties within the township.
  • Road and Bridge Maintenance: Townships collectively maintain approximately 71,000 miles of roads in Illinois, representing over half of the state's total road miles.

Search All Homes For Sale in Fremont Township

Fremont Township Homes For Sale June 24, 2024
Avg. DOM
Avg. $ / Sq.Ft.
Med. List Price
140 Properties
Page 1 of 12

Search All Lake County Homes For Sale

Lake County Homes For Sale June 24, 2024
Avg. DOM
Avg. $ / Sq.Ft.
Med. List Price
938 Properties
Page 1 of 79