Batavia Township, located in Kane County, Illinois, is intersected by the Fox River. The population stood at 35,221 during the 2010 census, with 12,892 housing units.

Notably, a portion of the United States Department of Energy's Fermilab lies on the township's eastern border, although most of the facility is situated in neighboring Winfield Township, DuPage County.

Geographically, Batavia Township deviates from the typical Midwestern township layout, sharing a six-mile square with Geneva Township. It spans an area of 18.7 square miles, of which 18.31 square miles (or 97.91%) is land and 0.39 square miles (or 2.09%) is water.

The township encompasses the majority of Batavia, with smaller portions of Aurora and North Aurora. Additionally, there are unincorporated towns like Mooseheart nearby.

Batavia Township shares borders with Geneva Township to the north, Winfield Township to the east, Blackberry Township to the west, and Aurora Township to the south. It also adjoins Naperville Township to the southeast and Sugar Grove Township to the southwest.

The township falls under the jurisdiction of Batavia Public School District 101 and West Aurora Public School District 129.

Kane County Homes For Sale May 29, 2024
Avg. DOM
Avg. $ / Sq.Ft.
Med. List Price
527 Properties
Page 1 of 44